SOMETIMES THE LAST THING YOU WANT IS THE THING YOU NEED MOST

 

Across the crowded terminal at Sydney Airport, disillusioned travel blogger Grant watches touring English musician Nina steal a bottle of vodka, and impulsively he steps in to help her avoid arrest. When this chivalrous act makes Grant miss his flight, he’s forced to take a last minute job chaperoning his new least favorite person around the city he’s grown to hate, to cover the cost of a new flight, twenty four hours later.

 

As the straight-laced Grant chases the free-spirited Nina across town, he becomes increasingly uncertain if he’ll actually make it, as he’s drawn into the string of petty crimes she's tallying up, en route to her gig that night.

 

Once their initial animosity melts away as they bond over music, heartbreak and dad jokes, Grant sees Sydney through Nina’s eyes, and in the process, he gains a new appreciation for his home, and - by reconnecting with the past he was running from - a new hope for himself.

 

As their twenty four hours together draws to a close, neither star-crossed stranger will find it easy to say goodbye to the other.

 

A love story in the tradition of ‘Roman Holiday’, 'High Fidelity' and ‘Before Sunrise’.

 

 

 

 

9 Customer Reviews

 
Amer
5.0 out of 5 stars
This book is bound to warm your heart
June 18, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
A brilliant telling of the classic love triangle with a twist; between a guy, a girl and a city. Full of Easter eggs, guaranteed to make a second reading as interesting as the first. And for anyone who is familiar with Sydney in Summer, the words in this story are bound to recall vivid images in your mind that won't soon be forgotten.
 

 

Adriana Belotti
5.0 out of 5 stars
Funny and quirky.
June 21, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sydney is the perfect backdrop for this light hearted, a day in the life of two strangers story. I'm a Zeppelin girl, but the Beatles references didn't get lost on me. Very cute and perfect for a lazy weekend.
 

 

Santa Monica Reader
5.0 out of 5 stars
beautifully written. Sure to win the hearts of Beatles ...
August 5, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
A charming story, beautifully written. Sure to win the hearts of Beatles lovers everywhere. Would love to see it made into a movie.
 

 

Andrew
5.0 out of 5 stars
This thought provoking and beautifully written story about two strangers
June 25, 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
This thought provoking and beautifully written story about two strangers, who after a chance meeting at Sydney airport, spend a day together discussing life and love. The book is filled with searingly honest dialogue that Pollack uses masterfully to develop the two main characters, Grant and Nina. It was a great read and I highly recommend this book.
 

 

diane
4.0 out of 5 stars
A Bit of a struggle to get the rhythm but a sweet ride once you do.
July 15, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
A Bit of a struggle to get the rhythm but a sweet ride once you do. I liked these two enough to stay with them to the end. Sweet a little predictable but a nice story.
 

 

KatelynDC
2.0 out of 5 stars
Meh
May 22, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Story has a lot of potential. But the storytelling wasn't great. Weird dialogue. It's hard to tell when the narrative switches perspectives.
 

 

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars
Pollack's engaging, whimsical love letter to Sydney is a light, enjoyable page-turner...
June 9, 2017
Format: Paperback
Chock full of Beatles references for eagle-eyed readers, this novel is part story, part screenplay and part love letter to Sydney. Two nuanced, well fleshed-out strangers bring Sydney's attractions (tourist AND otherwise) to life in a single night of whimsical chaos. Pollack gives you characters you can't help but love, with moments of love, lust, loss, and a whole lot of humour in between. Loved every page.
 

 

Fredichles
5.0 out of 5 stars
I thoroughly enjoyed this book
June 17, 2017
Format: Paperback
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Using rhythmic prose and clever dialogue, Pollack draws us into a cracked and twisted world through the eyes of his protagonists Grant and Nina. Set in current day Sydney, the book is an emotional rollercoaster filled with twists and turns as it explores ugly and beautiful sides of love and human nature. Pollack’s humorous and unapologetic style draws the reader subtly into a deeper philosophical provocation that will leave you pondering your own life choices and relationships. A beautifully written and moving story.

Any Girl Who Loves The Beatles Is Bound To Break Your Heart

SKU: 978-1082093814
$20.00Price
    • Paperback: 231 pages
    • Publisher: Independently published (July 23, 2019)
    • Language: English
    • ISBN-10: 1082093815
    • ISBN-13: 978-1082093814
    • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 0.6 x 7.8 inches
    • Shipping Weight: 11 ounces
  • Standard shipping fee is included with the purchase. Postage within Australia & New Zealand only. Delivery time depends on stock at hand or how soon US Amazon can ship to me. I appreciate your patience.

Nick Pollack // Director

+61 402 038 843

Darlinghurst, NSW, Australia

©2020  Nick Pollack